E-number & other additives that can be derived from animal sources:
(In this case it’s best to contact the food manufacturer for further details)

Red = Stay Away Yellow = Check with Manufacturer

L’cysteine hydrochloride (E920) - obtained from animal hair or chicken feathers, used in shampoos and as an improving agent in white flour. Can be produced synthetically.     

Lactic acid (E270) – acid produced by fermenting milk sugar. Can also be obtained from non-dairy sources.

Lard – hard fat surrounding stomach and kidneys in cattle, pigs and sheep. Found in many processed foods.

Lecithin (E322) - fatty substance found in nerve tissues, egg yolk and blood. Can also be obtained from vegetable sources especially soya. Used in many processed foods e.g. confectionary and baked products.

Leucine

Lutein (E161(b)) - dye obtained from egg yolk. May also be obtained from marigolds.

Monoacetate

Monoacetin

Oleic acid - fatty acid found in animal and vegetable fats. Used in soaps and cosmetics.

Oxystearin

Pepsin – Enzyme from a pig’s stomach.

Rennet – enzyme extracted from calves’ stomachs after they have been slaughtered, used in cheese-making. Non-animal rennets made from microbial or fungal enzymes are available to make vegetarian cheeses.

A-D | E | F-K | L-R | S-Z Back to Jeevan Page